Home / Media / Digital News

Digital News

Anantkumar Hegde wins Uttara Kannada seat, gets unprecedented mandate

Bharatiya Janata Party leader Anantkumar Hegde has won from the Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha constituency.

Anantkumar Hegde, who has a stronghold over the Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha seat, defeated JDS's Asnotikar by over 4 lakh votes.


In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Anantkumar Hegde beat Prashant R Deshpande of Congress.

Asnotikar, who was with the Congress in the 2008 elections, joined the BJP and won the by-election. Uttara Kannada is one of the constituencies in 28-seat Karnataka located in the southern part of India.

Anantkumar Hegde recently courted controversy after he called Rahul Gandhi a moron over the Congress chief's recent claim that a new word "Modilie" has been added to the dictionary.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has put up its best-ever performance in south India. An Independent - south Indian multi-lingual film actress Sumalatha Ambareesh, backed by the BJP - is leading in Mandya over JD-S contestant Nikhil Kumaraswamy, son of state Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy and grandson of JD-S supremo H.D. Deve Gowda.

The 24 constituencies the BJP is leading in are: Bagalkot, Bangalore Central, Bangalore North, Bangalore South, Bellary (ST), Belgaum, Bidar, Bijapur (SC), Chikkaballapur, Chikkodi, Chitradurga (SC), Dakishna Kannada, Davangere, Dharwad, Gulbarga, Haveri, Kolar (SC), Koppal, Mysore, Raichur (ST), Shimoga, Tumkur, Udupi-Chikmaglur and Uttara Kannada.

The BJP contested in 27 seats while the ruling allies Congress in 21 and the JD-S in 7 as part of their pre-poll alliance seat arrangement.

Prominent leading BJP candidates included Union Ministers D V Sadananada Gowda in Bangalore North, Anantkumar Hegde in Uttara Kannada and Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi in Bijapur (SC), outgoing members Prahlad Joshi in Dharwad, Shoba Karandlaje in Udupi-Chikmaglur, B Y Raghavendra in Shimoga, Nailin Kumar Kateel in Dakshina Kannada and Pratap Simha in Mysore.
In the 2014 general elections, the BJP won 17, Congress nine and JD-S two.



Related posts